First Time Shooter

Started on April 12, 2021

The course is 4 hours, 2 hours in the classroom covering firearm safety and firearms nomenclature. The other 2 hours will be at the range where students can use their firearms to get familiar with them, or just want to learn how to shoot different types of guns. This class is also great for people who have inherited firearms from family members and they want to learn how to use them.

The first-time shooter is a great way to get into shooting. We will give people knowledge, so people can understand how every firearm works that someone could buy in California. This class will give you the mindset you need to buy and to be a responsible gun owner.

Learn the basics of owning a firearm in California.

The cost of the class will cover ammo and targets. We will bring guns for everyone to shoot. Students can bring their own guns into the class.


Students who cancel their attendance up to 30 days prior to any course will receive a credit toward future course attendance. No refunds or course credits for cancellations less than 30 days prior to a course. No exceptions. Itus defense reserves the right to cancel any course dates where a minimum number of students have not registered up to 30 days prior to the course, in which case students will be given the option of a full refund of course fees or given credit for a future course.

RANGE FEES: Range fees of $17 are the responsibility of the student, and can be paid directly to your Instructor on range day.


  • Firearms safety
  • Revolver nomenclature
  • Semi-auto nomenclature
  • Ar -15 (carbine) nomenclature
  • Shotgun nomenclature
  • Lever action nomenclature
  • Bolt action
  • Break action nomenclature
  • Different types of firearms calibers
  • Buying a firearm in California
  • Storing firearms
  • Travel with a firearmCalifornia firearms laws
  • The function of the firearms
  • Loading and unloading of the firearm
  • Proper grip
  • Sight alignment / sight picture
  • Trigger control
  • Point of aim/point of impact


Students will pay for their own rage fees at the range

  • Hearing protection (electronic preferred) / Eye protection
  • Students who bring their own gun will also need to bring their own ammo and working magazines for the guns.
  • Clothing suited for the day
  • Weapon lube and cleaner
  • Water or hydration device
  • Pen and notepad

Leave a comment